Christian Right Theocracy

This is a post I have been thinking about for days.  I have been thinking about this since I read an op-ed in my local newspaper entitled “Liberals expressing fear of theocracy again.”  The author argues that we should not be afraid of the conservative movement and the religious right.  That we are making an error in respect to the religious right. That we look at Christian conservatism and see a host of legitimately problematic tendencies:  grandiose ambitions, apocalyptic enthusiasms and fiery speech.  We should not be afraid, that Christian extremism is not on the march again.  The man has lost his mind.  It makes one wonder in what universe he has been living in for the last two years or more.

Now we have the Value Voter Summit.  It has the appearance of a good old fashion Klan meeting.

These are people who read the Constitution and Bible and obsess over the parts they like and ignore the parts they don’t like.  What they are telling us is that we have no right to religious freedom under the First Amendment unless of course we accept their version.   I am sure they mean non-christian religions, but I know they mean everyone.  Christianity is only valid if you follow their values.  They hate everyone.

I fully expect that God will make his presence known. A ventriloquist throwing his voice from the beyond.  Can’t you just hear that slow, low, deep voice saying “You have come here to receive the word, and the word is , well you can find the word in my Racism For Dummies or The Bigots Handbook.  All available at a discounted price for value voters.  Complimentary t-shirts to the first 1000. Sign up for my newsletter at Godbigotry.heaven.”

The Christian Right has permeated every part of lives.  If you are Christian, their kind of hate based Christian you don’t belong.  You can even find the love of your life online at ChristianMingle.com.  I am not saying that they are associated with any hate group, but I find it ludicrous that there even is such a site.  It implies that if you aren’t christian you won’t find love.  It suggests that you are not intelligent enough to know what you are looking for.  Their website promotes all the bible verses, belief in God, etc.   The days are gone  when your parents said  you can’t date or marry unless he is a christian, Greek, Irish, Buddhist, Muslim.  Why must you marry within your race, religion or gender.  “Are you single and Christian? Are you waiting for God to make the right choice for you? Find God’s match for you.”  It is on their website.  I am not necessarily saying that that is a bad thing.  I am just saying that it insults my intelligence and violates my freedom.  I don’t need God or the religious right to choose my friends, love, religion, for me.  God gave me free will so I could choose for myself. Now mind you they only ask if you are christian and single.  They do not ask are you straight, gay or lesbian.  If what they write is true, then you/anyone should be able to get a date and find love.  Does it not tantalize the imagination?

Then of course we have the get out jail free pass.  Church or jail.  Now you would have to be an idiot to pass that up.  Thirty days in church is better than jail.  Naturally the courts will strike it dead as they should.  There is no state sanctioned religion.  Violates the First Amendment.  But you can pretend to be christian as they do and stay out of jail for now.

I am not a value voter.  I will never be their kind of value voter.   The God I pray to does not condone violence, hatred, bigotry and killing.  The God I pray to is not a member of a hate group.  The only handbook he has is the Bible, the entire Bible.  Not just parts of the Bible that suit my purpose.  I do not bribe God.  I do not lie to God.  I do not pretend to be a Christian.

One response to “Christian Right Theocracy

Leave a Reply

